Minutes of 21st Annual General Body Meeting of The Indian Political Economy Association December 08, 2017

IIT Delhi

- 1. Prof. V Upadhyay welcomed the members of the IPEA on behalf of the Association and initiated the discussion. It was placed on record that the conference was very well organized.
- 2. Prof. V. Upadhyay presented the income-expenditure statement of the IPEA for the period November 7, 2016 to December 7, 2017. The account was duly passed by the General Body.
- 3. It was reported that 11 new life members joined the Association during the IIT Delhi conference. Over 150 delegates representing different parts of the country attended the conference and about 110 papers were presented.
- 4. Prof. Surinder Kumar expressed the desire to withdraw from the post of Authorized Signatory of IPEA which was accepted by the General Body.
- 5. Prof. Surajit Mazumdar (Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi) and Dr. Anamika Priyadarshini (TISS, Patna) were appointed as the new authorized signatories of IPEA.
- 6. Dr Paramjeet Singh, Panjab University, Chandigarh, was appointed as Coordinator of IPEA.
- 7. The 22nd Annual Conference of IPEA will be held at University of Jammu, J&K in 2018, as proposed by Prof. Jasbir Singh, Jammu University.
- 8. The meeting mainly discussed the issue of exploring the alternate options of raising funds and enhancing activities of the Association. Prof. A. S Sidhu expressed interest in providing support to the Association and develop Centre for IPEA.
- 9. It was also suggested to start online journal for IPEA, most preferably from Patiala. However, some were of the view that the process must go slow in terms of first collecting good quality papers on political economic themes and contacting some reputed publisher to ensure good quality publication.
- 10. The General Body expressed its sincere thanks to Prof. V. Upadhyay, Dr. Seema Sharma, Dr. Jayan Jose Thomas, Dr. Sarbeswar Sahoo and PhD Students of HUSS and DMS for making excellent arrangements and taking personal care of conference delegates and for successfully organizing the conference.
- 11. The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.
- V. Upadhyay
- (Authorized Signatory)